My new Studebaker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My new Studebaker

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Studebaker world. I bought a 1959 Lark VIII on 4/8 from Charlestown, Indiana. Looks like it was always an Indiana car, it has a dealer badge on the rear from "Snider Indianapolis".

The story goes that a barn and it's contents were bought at an estate type sale by folks that ran a large flea market, the car was in the back corner of the barn covered in an inch of dust. It hasn't been plated since 1988 and it appears to be all complete and in fair shape for it's age. It came with a small plastic bag with the owners manual, accessories brochure, a bottle of touch up paint, and some receipts from the late 1970's for a battery, light bulb, etc.

The engine is stuck at the moment, but I removed all the spark plugs and have been soaking the cylinders with a mix of transmission fluid and PB blaster since Saturday when I got it home. The crankcase was full of clean looking oil, and the radiator was full of antifreeze. I pulled a valve cover just to see what it looked like inside.... I was amazed at how clean it was. The picture is immediately after the cover came off. Fingers crossed!

Glad to have found this website!

Lee

Click image for larger version

Name:	00909_j4v2yFojcLt_600x450.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	1753858Click image for larger version

Name:	00c0c_23VuQfYyyoW_600x450.jpg
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	1753866Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0488.JPG
Size:	142.2 KB
ID:	1753865Click image for larger version

Name:	00Z0Z_fbEnt2FiV5c_600x450.jpg
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	1753864Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0485.JPG
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	1753863
    Attached Files
    Lee
    1959 Lark VIII

Hello Lee,