No announcement yet.

OD Trans stays in overdrive all the time the lever is pushed in

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transmission / Overdrive: OD Trans stays in overdrive all the time the lever is pushed in

I just took my 61 Champ for a test drive after replacing the 6 cyl. with a 259 V8 and my transmission is always in OD no matter what the speed unless I pull the handle out! This trans I have never used before. The one behind the 6 cyl. worked like it is supposed to do. I am assuming the governor contacts are shorted or the solenoid is stuck?
    1958 Transtar 3E6-122
    1958 Transtar 3E13-31
    1959 Transtar 4E7-122
    1959 Lark 2 door Wagon
    1960 Transtar 5E28-171
    1960 Lark Gasser
    1963 Daytona

We just had a thread with the same symptoms. Possibilities include, but are not limited to:
    -Governor shorted
    -wire to the governor shorted to frame/body
    -bad overdrive relay, contacts stuck closed
    -solenoid stuck (least likely of all)

Here is the discussion

RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
    4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
    5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon

Comment

Question...do you have reverse? All mine are older, and reverse gear is locked out in overdrive.
      John Clary
      Greer, SC

SDC member since 1975

Comment

John, the wire to the reverse Lockout switch is shorted to ground or the switch is stuck, reverse should never be locked out.
        I and many others, could NEVER deal with that because we ALWAYS leave then "IN" O.D. and Park in Reverse!

In MCCAB1's situation, it must always be freewheeling with the Handle "IN", not actually IN Overdrive, from what it sounds like, just a failed Solenoid or wrong wiring.
        StudeRich
        Second Generation Stude Driver,
        Proud '54 Starliner Owner
        SDC Member Since 1967

Comment