New Studebaker addition to the shop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Studebaker addition to the shop

I have been working on the Studebaker to Chrysler Torqueflight adapter and stopped by the post office to check my PO box. Got a nice surprise package from a fellow Studebaker guy. Decided to hang it in the car for now. Makes it look good I think.

I will throw in a current picture of the adapter.

I will make a post in the mechanical section as soon as the project is completed and verified as a good alternative.
    Dan

Why would you wanna put a Torque-Flight behind a Stude V? Much easier to go with GM. Maybe you just like challenges?

Comment

Joel,

Good honest question. First I have been building transmissions for street and racing for over 50 years and I can tell you that there is not one GM transmission that will even come close to the TQ. The new TQ with OD and lock up converter is a great fully programmable unit that works far better than any GM unit and is 5 times stronger and will out live the GM units. The small block Mopar 904 and 727 transmissions are an almost dead ringer bolt pattern wise with the Stude. It actually is an easy adaption and I cannot figure out why no one has done it before. Simpler and easier than the GM adaption in my book. The 2002 Dodge transmission I am using has a 3.07 low gear, dual overdrives and lock up converter which will allow me to run a deep rear gear without sacrificing highway speeds or mileage. It will also survive with my supercharged engine. It is fully programmable and is built for trucks so it is much stronger than anything GM ever made. So I think in my opinion it is the way to go. But of course that is just my opinion. If it all works out well I will be marketing the conversion kit later this year.

Comment

Sorry I can't help agreeing to this, I've had loads of Chevys + Buick & Cadillac & I really liked them a lot but I've also had Chryslers, Dodges & Plymouths & they are better.