Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

High School Auto shop builds a '64 Convertible (picture now)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High School Auto shop builds a '64 Convertible (picture now)

My grade 11 -12 Auto Shop class took on a stale 15 year old restoration of a '64 Daytona Convertible. I'm new to Vancouver Island and have been invited a couple times out with the SDC...thanks Mark, where I met a gentleman who's convertible needed to be finished. I offered to build it for him in my auto class.

Wow!... What arrived on Monday morning was a really nice Canadian Built 1964 Convertible 185 ci automatic. The original project stalled after the car came out of the paint shop, so my students will install windows, cat whiskers, carpet, seats, bumpers,grill and all the other bright work and trim work. We've been asked to change the entire braking system with bigger V8 brakes for some better stopping power.

At this point we've got the rear hubs off, brake parts down to the backing plates, the car has been clean out, we had to deal with a few generation of mice in the glove box and another in the convertible top and started to clean up and paint some parts. bumper has been polished, the grill too. The owner has been finding missing parts and dropping off parts by the school.

My students are fully engaged and pretty excited to be working on a cool project like this.

Allen
    Last edited by studebaker-R2-4-me; 03-07-2017, 07:21 PM.
    1964 GT Hawk
    PSMCDR 2014
    Best time: 14.473 sec. 96.57 MPH quarter mile
    PSMCDR 2013
    Best time: 14.654 sec. 94.53 MPH quarter

Victoria, Canada

Bravo!
    KURTRUK
    (read it backwards)

Nothing is politically right which is morally wrong. -A. Lincoln

Comment

Fantastic! It seems most school systems around here have done away with these kinds of classes.
      Joe Roberts
      '61 R1 Champ
      '65 Cruiser
      Eastern North Carolina Chapter

Comment