PDA

View Full Version : Zip Van With Cerlist Diesel

FourbyFounder
02-15-2017, 03:35 PM
My first post is to ask a question. I am a writer working on a story for Diesel World Magazine on the Cerlist diesel. It's the second in a new monthly column I am starting there on old diesel engines called "Vintage Smoke."

In researching the Cerlist, I found information that at least one Studebaker Zip Van was repowered with a Cerlist Model 3 diesel (3-cylinder, 170 ci, 85 hp, 170 lbs-ft). Cerlist built 2-stroke, loop scavenged diesels in 2, 3, V4 and V6 configurations (54-150 hp) and had a V8 prototyped. They were revvers and peak power was at 3000 rpm. A very innovative engine, it was used in the Jeep M-Series Forward Control built for the USMC in '63. They were multi-fuel and ran on #1 or #2 diesel, JP-4 or gasoline with no adjustments. The engine was designed by Hans List, an Austrian, and his company, AVL, licensed the engine all over the world, including to Cerlist (the name being a combination of Cerf, the top guy at Cerlist, and List). Cerlist went into business in 1956 and sold out to Waukesha in 1963, but Cerf stayed on as Sales Manager. Cerlist engines were built until 1973.

Anyway, in researching online, I came across this forum and some comments about the Zip Van diesel and that a guy named Asa Hall had owned it to about 2005 until it was sold. Can anyone hook me up with someone who might be able to tell more about that particular van, history and background and perhaps hook me up with the current owner? I have a vintage pic of it and want to pack as much info as I can into the caption. I was interested to learn that the Zip Van may be the last vehicle produced in the U.S. with a Studebaker nameplate.

Many thanks,

Jim Allen

Mark L
02-15-2017, 04:20 PM
Jim,