Deviation from Standard ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deviation from Standard ?

I have just seen the Lark of th12t33n (with a name like that does he have a licence to kill, rating?)in the Member's Studebakers forum.I was wondering what the name of that colour might be? I had my choice of colour for a Lark down either Black, or two-tone - red under a white roof.Lately i am considering silver?!

My feeling is that the abovementioned Lark is not painted in a factory colour? (although i read a reply today where the member stated Studebaker Co's willingness to please customers requests regarding options, in trying to explain a anomality in the finish of a specific Lark's doorpanels )

I am torn between two viewpoints for a daily driver.
    Stay with the original car and colour schemes; or
    go for upgraded brakes/tires and a "modern" colour paint.
    A feeling of "enjoy what you appreciate,but add to what you consider unsafe/uncomfortable"

I am new to the SDC and from reading the posts/replies get a definite feeling of a certain conservatism regarding the manner of restoration/rebuild/alterations to Studebakers,that members would feel comfortable with.
    The loyalty generally runs deep; and some members even have trouble in using famous Automobile names; but would only refer to " brand-x " or " ...i also had a F..d ...";
    It seems that something like the term Mopar might be more easily used, because it is not a manufacturers name , but refers to a family of cars.

Is there a general consensus of the amount of deviation from what was built in Southbend that is acceptable in the SDC , and what would not be considered out of bounds? (eg. the use of some items of trim like a dash and instruments from a Hawk in a Scotsman ; or God forbid ; a Dodge engine in a Lark!)

Regards
    Peet
    Pretoria