PDA

View Full Version : Sparton Horns - Getting it to work



packard352
08-18-2016, 11:17 AM
Hi,

Does anyone on the Forum have experience of, or can suggest what is the best way to test if a Sparton horn? Can it be done with the horn in situ - I imagine it would be possible.

Plus, is there an adjustment screw or nut that can be tweaked to help make it work?

Thanks, Richard

r1lark
08-18-2016, 11:27 AM
Google "Spartan horn repair" -. Lots of info and videos.

Mike Sal
08-18-2016, 12:15 PM
I worked for Spartan Mfg years ago. The Horns used on most Studebakers were "model S" style. One of the engineers bought some of the left over parts & test equipment when they went out of business a few years ago, and even has a "Spartan Museum" of sorts located in his antique mill building. If you have a unique horn or problem, I could probably get him to take a look at it for you.

The most common issues are rusted diaphrams and corroded contact points. Also, horns are very picky in regards to how they are mounted. if you are testing one on a bench, rather than on the car, try to simulate how it would be mounted as close as possible. The horn may not sound the same on the bench compared to on the car.
Mike Sal