Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: 55 Commander Engine Won't Turn Over

Hello all!

After installing a brand new 6V battery and changing the gasoline out, the engine will not turn over (has been sitting for 3 years).

A few things I noticed:

1. radiator fan spins, but engine wont crank over (to me, it sounds like there is not enough power in the brand new battery to get the starter motor going, but I am no mechanic)
    2. I was thinking maybe there is a electrical problem as the headlights seem very dim, and the wiper blades rotate very slowly. (the previous owner installed an electronic fuel pump so there are "newer" wires in the engine bay)
    3. previous owner had the black battery cable grounded to the engine block, and the red cable sent to what I think is the starter solenoid. I have read on this forum that this is a positive ground system and that this should be the opposite. I also spoke to Bud at the La Palma meet, and he suggested taking the black cable straight to the starter for a more direct current flow.

Again, bear with me as I am not at all a mechanic, but am hoping to learn with this project.

Also, is there a way to hand crank this engine (original 289 V8) without pulling the entire engine out? The previous owner stated the engine was running 3 years ago, but I want to make sure it hasn't seized up on us over this time period (it has been garaged the whole time)

Since the engine had sat for 3 yrs, you need to get oil pressure built up or damage may occur from attempting to start it.
    So having problems turning the engine may have been a good thing.
    "the fan spins"
    Then the engine IS turning over [slowly]. It is not seized.
    Do you mean that the engine does not start ?
    Was the new battery fully charged ?
    From factory the car was positive ground, so the cable from the + terminal of battery goes to a starter mounting bolt.