Radio Dial Face Paint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radio Dial Face Paint

I am looking for some information concerning the paint/powder used to cover the numbers on the radio face on 1951 Studebaker radios. I imagine that the coating was originally a glow in the dark green powder and not a paint? I am not an expert by any means, hence why I am reaching out to the forum. Should I go find some glow in the dark green paint? Is there another option that I am not aware of? Do decals exist for this radio face? Again, this is for the 1951 series of philco brand radios with the bullet knobs, official factory accessory.
    1947 Studebaker M-5
    1946 Studebaker M-5
    1948 Studebaker Land Cruiser
    1961 Studebaker Lark 4-dr. Sedan
    1951 Studebaker Land Cruiser

SI has replacement dials. May not be exactly as original as far as materials used.
    KURTRUK
    (read it backwards)

Nothing is politically right which is morally wrong. -A. Lincoln

Comment

I believe there are Gov'mt regulations against using Radium. Maybe it killed a Calif. Laboratory Rat.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radium_Girls Actually, many people died. But if you're more concerned about rats, so be it.
        Bez Auto Alchemy
        573-318-8948
        http://bezautoalchemy.com

"Don't believe every internet quote" Abe Lincoln

Comment

Well you can't buy the original stuff anymore. There are lots of phosphorescent paints available, maybe you could use them, but I'd be too shaky to brush it on to make it look right. I'd go with a replacement if it looks close enough.

Comment

Here's the low down on 50-52 dial glass paint.

The original paint was glow-in-the-dark, but the radio's bulbs did not have the ultraviolet filters like the dash bulbs did, so the glow-in-the-dark feature of the paint was not utilized on radio dials.