Por 15

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paint: Por 15

I'm having a Mustang II front end stubbed onto a 62 Champ frame. The shop doing it sandblasted the frame first. When I get it back I was planning on coating the frame with POR 15, which I've never used before. Here's my question: if the frame comes back with a new sheen of rust on that bare metal, which I strongly suspect it will, can I apply the POR 15 right on it? In other words, is it like some of the rust converter products I've used before where you can put it right on a rusty surface? Again, I'm not expecting a heavy coat of new rust, but I will bet it will have a thin coat all over.

Yes but follow the directions and use all the products such as the wash.and the metal prep, the name por stands for paint over rust . And take special precautions to protect your self and you surroundings as it don't come back off easily if at all and you will be wearing it for awhile.

Comment

On steel with minimal rust, I'd prefer to use epoxy primer and topcoat with paint. If the rust is significant then POR15 should work. I used POR15 on a trailer I built from mild steel with minimal rust prior to coating and it came off a year later in sheets even though I cleaned it with solvent prior to painting.

Better safe than sorry, use primer and paint. Bob
      Last edited by sweetolbob; 02-08-2016, 08:03 PM.

Comment

Look up KBS Coatings. They have a system that works great and has an inhibitor that you can spray on bare metal and it wont rust for a long time even with no paint on it.
        The paint is pretty nasty so wear gloves and cover the floor. You brush it on and it levels out pretty good as if you sprayed it.

Comment

When the economy went bad my lark sat outside next to my garage por 15 with a inch of its life for 5 yrs no rust or pealing.

Comment