Re-visiting the 1955 E38 in NJ

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Re-visiting the 1955 E38 in NJ

Hello again, Studebaker truckers ! Yes, I'm re-visiting this 1955 E38 truck previously mentioned in the forum here:

I visited it in person on Sunday 12/6/15 so it's definitely still unsold. Yes, it is a big beast, and the ramp set-up looks even huger with a vehicle on it (which it did have).
    Now, I have medium-size truck desire, but no experience (I'm like the one forum member who uses the tagline "I'm not a mechanic, but I did change a spark plug once"), so I guess I'm hoping to hear various opinions. The truck cab looks very good to excellent, no rust-through or bondo especially in the cab corners, so that's a good point. Once enough space was cleared around it, I did get the hood open to see a V8 motor, with the number 5E-3055 which I take to mean a 259 (assuming I got the right number from the right place: driver's side forward top edge on a machined plate). It started and ran OK but was too crowded in to drive more than a foot or so. The brakes are inoperable, and repairing those myself are way out of my wheelhouse. The underside looked clean, undamaged, and relatively free of obvious or major leaks.
    Anyone care to offer an opinion on costs for a total re-do of brakes on a truck like that, and parts availability ? Yes, there's still the question and expense of removing the hideous tilted and fixed-in-place ramp set-up and replacing it with at least a basic flatbed if not a hydraulic tilt one to make it more usable. And yes, I'd still have to have it transported.
    I suppose I just don't want to get into something and be way over my head right away for the short-term sake of having a cool old Studebaker truck. The seller countered my $7000 offer with a $7500 ask, so I'm still debating. General opinions of worthness would be appreciated Thanks, all.
    Let the comments flow !!

Mike Auldridge in MD
    Mike Auldridge
    Gaithersburg, MD