wanted speedo cable

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speedo / Tach / Gauges: wanted speedo cable

Anybody have a speedometer cable for a 55 commander 2dr hardtop v8 automatic? I just bought it and the speedo doesn't work. The cable is broken and I could not get the speedo needle to move when trying to turn the cable by hand. Also, just wondering, are these auto transmissions just two speed? Since I am new to Studebakers and to this forum I will probably be around fairly often asking more questions. Also would be interested in a good repair manual for this car. It has 55thousand miles and appears original and is in very nice shape, Just drove it for the first time yesterday.THANKS.....BUD

Welcome to the forum. Are you yet a Studebaker Drivers Club member if not please consider joining. I too have a '55 Studebaker however it is a President Sedan and is manual overdrive so my speedo cable will be different. Hopefully someone on the forum will be able to assist you. I believe your transmission is a DG (Detroit Gear) Transmission and it is a 3 speed with second gear start however someone else will I am sure confirm this.

Re printed parts and repair manuals are available from Studebaker International and other vendors. The following is a web page of Studebaker Vendors

Good luck with your car I am sure you will enjoy it. We have a member here in Ontario with a very nice example of a '55 Cmmander hardtop.

cliff t
    sigpic
    55 President Deluxe
    64 Commander
    66 Cruiser

37 Oldsmobile F37 4 Door

Comment

If you unscrew the cable from the back of the Speedometer and try to spin the brass sleeve that is exposed and it does not turn, the cause of the broken cable is a seized Speedometer.

The Core in the Cable is replaceable with a universal Cable from your Auto Parts Store (NAPA).
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment