PDA

View Full Version : 1959 Scotsman, I think?

ironhead1
11-21-2014, 06:30 PM
Hello, and thank you for accepting me to this great forum! I have a chance to purchase what I believe is a 1959 Scotsman pickup. It is in pretty good shape except for extensive rust to the step plate and seat riser area. And, unfortunately, the serial number has went by the wayside with the rust. I am a welder fabricator by trade, so the rust doesn't bother me, as I know I can repair the rusted area. My question is: Is there any other location with a serial # stamped on this truck, maybe to the frame? Just wondering if would be a waste of my time pursuing it any further. The truck has been sitting for 30 years, left at this location by a previous owner, and the current owner knows nothing about it. Thanks in advance for your input.

BobPalma
11-21-2014, 06:39 PM
The Serial Number plate should be affixed to the driver seat riser, right below the driver's left thigh. It should be visible by opening the door and looking straight in against the side of the seat frame.

Yes, it is a Scotsman pickup. :) :!: BP

ironhead1
11-21-2014, 06:42 PM
The Serial Number plate should be affixed to the driver seat riser, right below the driver's left thigh. It should be visible by opening the door and looking straight in against the side of the seat frame.

Yes, it is a Scotsman pickup. :) :!: BP That's the problem that whole area is missing, no serial number plate.

57pack
11-21-2014, 07:17 PM
Do pickup trucks have that secret serial number stamped in the rearmost cross member like the car line?

ironhead1
11-21-2014, 10:32 PM
Do pickup trucks have that secret serial number stamped in the rearmost cross member like the car line?
I was hoping someone would know of some secret stamping.

studeclunker
11-21-2014, 11:44 PM