1959 Scotsman, I think?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1959 Scotsman, I think?

Hello, and thank you for accepting me to this great forum! I have a chance to purchase what I believe is a 1959 Scotsman pickup. It is in pretty good shape except for extensive rust to the step plate and seat riser area. And, unfortunately, the serial number has went by the wayside with the rust. I am a welder fabricator by trade, so the rust doesn't bother me, as I know I can repair the rusted area. My question is: Is there any other location with a serial # stamped on this truck, maybe to the frame? Just wondering if would be a waste of my time pursuing it any further. The truck has been sitting for 30 years, left at this location by a previous owner, and the current owner knows nothing about it. Thanks in advance for your input.
    Attached Files

The Serial Number plate should be affixed to the driver seat riser, right below the driver's left thigh. It should be visible by opening the door and looking straight in against the side of the seat frame.

Yes, it is a Scotsman pickup. BP
    We've got to quit saying, "How stupid can you be?" Too many people are taking it as a challenge.

G. K. Chesterton: This triangle of truisms, of father, mother, and child, cannot be destroyed; it can only destroy those civilizations which disregard it.

Comment

Originally posted by BobPalma View Post
      The Serial Number plate should be affixed to the driver seat riser, right below the driver's left thigh. It should be visible by opening the door and looking straight in against the side of the seat frame.

Yes, it is a Scotsman pickup. BP
      That's the problem that whole area is missing, no serial number plate.

Comment

Do pickup trucks have that secret serial number stamped in the rearmost cross member like the car line?
        sigpic1957 Packard Clipper Country Sedan

"There's nothing stronger than the heart of a volunteer"
        Lt. Col. Jimmy Doolittle