1939 Commander?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1939 Commander?

I was at a friends barb-b-q last week and there was a 1939 Commander sitting in the field behind the neighbours place. Having just bought the place, the new owner did not know what the story was on it. Tracking down the 90 year old previous owner I bought the car for a little more than scrap. The car seems to be complete minus the engine. The trans is in pieces in the trunk along with the original rims and tires. I towed it home yesterday and found the serial # 9AW-3 11605 on a plate on the passenger firewall. I am a diesel mechanic by trade but have always loved anything old. I have restored a few cars and know that this is a good solid car to devote some time too. The fenders, trunk lid, hood and doors are in decent shape. The rockers, floors and trunk need to be replaced. Does anyone know what year it actually is? Can you get steel pans from somewhere? None of my suppliers are any help. There is a 6 cyl engine and trans on kijiji (Im from Hamilton Ontario Canada) that I think will bolt right in and I am waiting to hear from him. Any information on Commanders would be helpful. Thanks! -Rich

A 9A W3 is a 1939 Commander 4 door Cruising Sedan. Of the 43753 Commanders built in the 1939 model year 35189 were of this body style. There are no body panels being reproduced for this car.

Click image for larger version

Name:	commander 4dr copy.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	142.0 KB
ID:	1691227
    Richard Quinn
    Editor emeritus: Antique Studebaker Review

Comment

I believe you will find the Serial Number Plate on the Drivers door post. You have as Richard said, the Body Type and sequential BODY Number built, 11605 only. Not the Car Serial Number.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment