1962 Lark Radiators

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1962 Lark Radiators

Bought a nice old 62 Lark from my friend Neil Thornton last year. It needs some attention and I noticed a radiator leak that became pretty significant. I am having it totally reworked at a local radiator shop as the core was rotten. For those of you that have done this...what is a fair price for removing, reworking and re installing?

I know what I am paying...just trying to make myself feel better.

Two young gals have seen the car and want to leave their wedding in it...so I gotta make it presentable and road worthy...at least to get them a block away from the church. Good motivator to get some work done on it anyway.
    Thanks for your thoughts and expertise as I am a newbie.

Herb Modesitt
    62 Lark 4 Door

BTW...the two young gals are marrying guys and have separate weddings...the way it reads gives impression they were marrying each other.
    Not in the back of my Studie.

Comment

I had the one in my 62 daytona redone a few years ago. Upgraded from a two core to three core and it ran around $180

Comment

Fair price? Subjective for what you're willing to pay..

You don't want to know what I paid for my rebuild, but it was a special build.

However, a re-core can cost between $300 to $500.

Hopefully, the shop expressed the difference in cost and benefits between keeping a dual core OEM and a dual core high efficiency re-core.

In Phoenix it can get to 115F! Going to a 3 core high efficiency multi-pass radiator on a car with AC was worth the cost opposed to being stuck on the freeway getting flipped off for over heating.

Comment

Hello Herb. Good to see you on the forum. Sorry to hear about the radiator. I was hopeing you were enjoying driving the Lark. But to some of us,working on them is enjoyable also. We got Josh's Lark put back together enough for him to drive and I can't get it stopped long enough to do any more to it.