Need help! 1955 Studebaker President Speedster

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help! 1955 Studebaker President Speedster

I am coming into possession of a 1955 Studebaker Presidential Speedster. The car is in original shape (just exterior dust). Been sitting in a garage for over 8 years without any attention. I am new to studebaker world (chevy, fords, and Bus Conversions). What should I be concerned with as I try and get the car back running. I plan on cleaning the fuel lines and carb without question. All fluids will be drained and replaced. The battery was removed so a new one is due. Is this car a six or 12 volt? The original owner died about 5 years ago and so very little information is available. The car rolls without issues and no body rust or damage has been found. I plan on ordering the build sheet from the Museum by the middle of next week. I think the car has overdrive and that might be a good thing? The pictures look like the car came with all the options available. Where should I go for more information and perhaps replacement parts as I get her back on the road.

Thanks

Grant

Welcome.

The car is six volt, positive ground. The battery size is group one.

You should buy the official shop manual, plus the chassis parts manual and the body parts manual. The parts manuals are at least as important as the shop manual, and maybe more so. They have professional line drawings of every system and part on the car. All the manuals are available at the major Studebaker vendors. You will be able to find any part you need to make the car operational. Trim parts may be harder to find, but again, this forum is a good place to be.

The biggest Studebaker parts vendor west of the Mississippi is Studebakers West in Redwood City. There are also lots of folks who have used parts. One of the best known is Bob Peterson in Hayward.

Lots of advice here on the forum.