Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• History Buff this month...

However...

When I was in college in the mid-fifties, I actually took a course in slide rule. I was an engineer major and most others of my ilk sported very expensive "slip-sticks", with scales on both sides and all kinds of sine/tangent/co-tangent, ad infinitum. These fabulous what-chama-callits cost upwards of $20. Mine was so cheap (I think it set me back about $3-$4) it only had scales on 1 side. The other side had metric conversions, in case I was attacked by a stray milimeter that needed to be converted.

John
    Last edited by Johnnywiffer; 03-21-2014, 05:18 AM.

Youe holster description, reminds me of the math heads when I was in college, circa 1972-76.
    Same holster & swager thing, but show casing a BIG hand held calculator.

Comment

Still have my K&E. Absolutely no use for it now other than a conversation piece. Most people now don't even know what it is.
      Bob
      Own \'53 Commander Starliner. Red w/beige top. 350 Chev/700R4. Tilt,cruise,A/C.http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j30/Bobphyl/StudeontheBeach.jpg

Comment

In the 1950s, I won a 5 inch K & E log-log duplex decitrig (hope that my memory is correct on that) at a Science Fair. Most engineers used the ten inch version.
        Two memories created with it;
        1) My sister tried to measure something with my BiL's 10 inch K & E. She found out that was futile.
        2) After 25 years of ownership of mine, I was asked to speak at local high school science fair awards ceremony. I brought the slide rule with me. I opened my speach by saying that the students and most of the parents probably do not know what this is.
        Gary L.
        Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
        Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

Originally posted by BeeJay View Post
          Still have my K&E. Absolutely no use for it now other than a conversation piece. Most people now don't even know what it is.
          Bob