PDA

View Full Version : Just Wondering? How many 1951 Commander HC-5 Starlight Coupes are on the road?

effiedude
02-03-2014, 04:46 PM
I've been collecting parts for My 1951 Commander HC-5 Starlight Coupe and just made room in My shop to do a body off restore. I have seen lots of Bullet nosed cars 50 and 51's but most have been Champions and Land Cruisers. Not too many Commander Star lights. So My question is, Is the 1951 Commander Starlight Coupe considered a rare car? Please reply with Your input as it will be helpful. Pics of Your 1951 Commander would be nice. Thank you all and Have a fine day!

RadioRoy
02-03-2014, 04:57 PM
To my mind, it's one of the best of the bullet-nose cars. It's got a bullet nose, the wrap around windows, a V-8, and it's the first year of the "modern" suspension system that can be modified with bolt on brakes, sway bars and such. The only thing missing is a good bolt-on power steering system.

You are lucky to have found such a car.

rockne10
02-03-2014, 10:24 PM
Pat,
I got mine for $450 after a barn had caved in on it, crushed the roof, then sat outside for eighteen years.
It took a few years but it missed a first place at Lancaster 2008 by six points. As always, a head turner and tons of fun to drive. One of these days I'm going to get around to sending Roy my radio.

http://s57.photobucket.com/user/rockne10/library/1951?sort=2&page=1

http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g233/rockne10/1951/P3210066.jpg
(http://s57.photobucket.com/user/rockne10/library/1951?sort=2&page=1)

avantilover
02-04-2014, 12:36 AM
If my information is correct you have a Commander State with 232.6 Cubic Inch V8. Production was 11637.
The other coupe production figures are:

Sixes:
Champion Custom 2781
Champion Deluxe 9444
Champion Regal 14103

Eights:
Commander Regal 8192

effiedude
02-04-2014, 09:02 AM