Stromberg EX-23: Sticky choke valve

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel System: Stromberg EX-23: Sticky choke valve

Stromberg EX-23 on '35 Dictator 2A. The choke valve doesn't always close completely. It seems to sometimes get hung up maybe an 1/8" from full close and I have to poke it with my finger to close it. When I do that I feel like there is something binding. Once done, the car starts fine. Shut it off and sometimes it restarts, sometimes not. I read through the shop manual but can't really find anything that addresses this problem--just adjustments, etc.--but I'm not sure what I need to adjust. I'm no mechanic so I thought before I tear into it and do more harm than good, I'd go to the experts.

What say you?

This is a photo of the valve in the stuck-slightly-open position.

Thanks again for sharing your expertise.

MarkClick image for larger version

Name:	carb 1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	1741921

Not familiar with this particular carb, but is that the choke stove, or some sort of bi-metalic choke control spring on the manifold in the upper left corner of the pic? If its not a simple adjustment to tighten the spring assembly, I would think you are looking for binding or slop in the choke linkages, corrosion or an obstruction in what ever that heating device is, or perhaps even wear in the choke flap shaft, or where that shaft goes thru the carb housing. The slightly later carbs (like the BXOV on my 1941 Commander) with the choke housing mounted on the side of the carb, had a stove tube that went thru the exhaust manifold, was open on the bottom, and used vacuum to draw heated outside air into the choke housing. If exhaust gas rusted out that tube inside the exhaust manifold, exhaust gas would get sucked into the choke housing and cause that to corrode or get gunked up on the inside? Hope this helps?

Comment