Engine and Carb help needed and greatly appreciated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel System: Engine and Carb help needed and greatly appreciated

I am new to Studebaker in general, this year I received a 1949 2r15 pickup on a trade but it had no engine and the tranny and rear was swapped for a GM set. Not long ago I received a 1952 2r16A pickup with a beat up body but an engine, tranny, and rear end. the issue I came across is the engine has no carburetor, normally this would not be an issue but the engine seems to be an enigma. the casting number on the block states it is a 1951 170 cid but the identification plates were the information is spouse to be stamped it has been ground off, the dipstick is marked at 6 quarts and there is 24 head bolts in the pattern of a 226 engine. I have a manual and have been searching on forums and varies internet sites but have only found information for what SHOULD be there but nothing to help me figure out what I have

Was it normal for a 170 block to be re-bored for a 226? Or is there a way to tell if its a 245?
    I need a carb but am not sure what numbers are correct for this engine.
    I seen somewhere that a carter 715 was used on both the 170 and 226/245 engines, it seems odd to me that the one carb will fit the two different engines although I may be wrong.

This has been driving me insane trying to figure out what carb I need for this truck, honestly its not the first truck restore on my list but It would be great to have a carb for it when I do start rebuilding

I'm sorry I don't have any pictures right know I'm up north for my job for a week, hopefully I can take some when I get back.

Thank you for any information.

If you can see a reason to pull the head, the 226 has a 4 3/8" stroke, the 245 engine has a 4 3/4" stroke
    64 GT Hawk (K7)
    1970 Avanti (R3)

Comment

Welcome! Sounds like you are jumping in the deep end!