Leaning forward on member communications

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaning forward on member communications

The SDC has a lot to be proud of in terms of longevity and a large, involved membership. I'd like to open a discussion on how its member communications can evolve for the future.

I'm a communications professional, in the business for nearly thirty years. I was a member (Grand Canyon Chapter) for several years in the late '90s when I got my first Stude, and I joined again last year when I began working on my second. I don't expect to renew, however.

Turning Wheels is a beautiful thing, and again something to be proud of. But I submit that the monthly-magazine format, with its attendant heavy costs in production and mailing as well as its inherently month-old-and-even-older content (where it's not the same as every previous month) cannot serve younger members anywhere near as well as it has in the past.

In similar fashion, the standard online forum format we see here, which is over a generation old, from the younger person's perspective is dated and stodgy as social medium and critically difficult to deal with in terms of locating the best answer to a problem or question.

Younger and smarter people than I am can furnish the range of vision for the social side of the hobby, and I invite those comments below. I'm most interested in the SDC as a repository for technical expertise and lore.