63 Avanti history lesson...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 63 Avanti history lesson...

Thought some of you Avanti fans might be interested. I'm no expert, but read a few things I hadn't heard about Avantis before...

curbside Avanti images posted at the CC Cohort by Foden Alpha (first posted 8/30/2013)    Every car has a story, but some are a hell of a lot more compelling than […]
    sigpic

1950 Commander Starlight Coupe
    Regal Deluxe Trim
    Automatic transmission
    46k original miles, 4th Owner

Interesting article. Thanks for posting.
    "Growing old is mandatory, but growing up is optional." author unknown

Comment

You're welcome, sir. I thought the photos of Loewy's own custom cars were worth seeing if nothing else. Showed a bit of where his Avanti design originated from...
      sigpic

1950 Commander Starlight Coupe
      Regal Deluxe Trim
      Automatic transmission
      46k original miles, 4th Owner

Comment

Originally posted by deco_droid View Post
        Thought some of you Avanti fans might be interested. I'm no expert, but read a few things I hadn't heard about Avantis before...

http://www.curbsideclassic.com/curbs...ed-brilliance/
        There are certainly many things one could say about this article both good and bad. I suspect the Author has too many European Concepts, preferences, opinions and thoughts to properly and fairly discuss an American Car.

I especially do not like his poor choice of Cars to Photo. It would have been better if he had gone to a SDC Zone Meet or International Meet and seen some REAL Studebakers!

The numerous Pics of that wrong wheeled (Lincoln Town Car type) White modified Stude. Avanti and the stupid looking '54 Starliner with ugly, bulbous Fender Skirts were the worst, at least he did say they were not stock.