PDA

View Full Version : Fuel System: Has anyone tried a Daytona Parts replacement carb?



jff
08-15-2013, 05:29 PM
I'm looking at one of these for the 6cyl Lark:

http://daytonaparts.com/universal-replacement-carburetor.html

Although I'd have to route a choke cable into the cabin somehow, it would be cool to have a completely fresh carburetor for the car.

jackb
08-16-2013, 09:24 AM
if you're looking for an AS carb...I've got one cheap with oil bath air filter...I think I have a dry type too..... good rebuildable units

PackardV8
08-16-2013, 10:38 AM
JMHO, but have Dave Thibault or Daytona Parts remanufacture the OEM carb. It will be in every way as good as a new one. It will look correct and fit correctly.

jack vines

jff
08-16-2013, 12:32 PM
JMHO, but have Dave Thibault or Daytona Parts remanufacture the OEM carb. It will be in every way as good as a new one. It will look correct and fit correctly.

jack vines

It's missing a part, the metering rod retainer clip. Will they be able to put in an appropriate replacement when remanufacturing?

BobPalma
08-16-2013, 02:22 PM
It's missing a part, the metering rod retainer clip. Will they be able to put in an appropriate replacement when remanufacturing?

Yes they will. They have thousands and thousands (really) of "parts carbs" from which to secure missing parts. I know owner Ron Hewitt well and have for probably 40 years.

(However, if you'll use the search function of the SDC Forum, you'll see that Daytona Parts replacement carb has been discussed here, with reports from actual users.) :) BP

jff
08-16-2013, 04:30 PM
Yes they will. They have thousands and thousands (really) of "parts carbs" from which to secure missing parts. I know owner Ron Hewitt well and have for probably 40 years.

(However, if you'll use the search function of the SDC Forum, you'll see that Daytona Parts replacement carb has been discussed here, with reports from actual users.) :) BP



I tried that, but it's difficult to sort out threads that are talking about the Daytona Parts carburetor from threads about the Studebaker Daytona car. I found one thread saying, "Hey, there's a new carburetor, looks great", but no actual reports from users.

BobPalma
08-16-2013, 04:42 PM
John, I apologize; I apparently misled you. This is the thread of which I was thinking:

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/showthread.php?70997-NEW-Single-Barrel-Carburetor-Available&highlight=hewitt

I remembered someone as having posted they used the carburetor, but apparently not.

You may call Ron Hewitt with confidence, though; he's a straight-up guy who will not advise you incorrectly....just tell him I said so! ;) BP

jff
08-17-2013, 12:04 AM
John, I apologize; I apparently misled you. This is the thread of which I was thinking:

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/showthread.php?70997-NEW-Single-Barrel-Carburetor-Available&highlight=hewitt

I remembered someone as having posted they used the carburetor, but apparently not.

You may call Ron Hewitt with confidence, though; he's a straight-up guy who will not advise you incorrectly....just tell him I said so! ;) BP

Ok, thanks! I think I'll call Ron, then decide between remanufacturing and buying a replacement.

Andy R.
08-17-2013, 01:28 AM
Daytona does superb work.
I had them refurbish a Stromberg WW years back. It came back looking like brand new and, best of all, required no fettling whatsoever once installed.

SN-60
08-17-2013, 08:56 AM
Daytona's fine.....But if You were closer to Mass, I'd definitely send the carb to Dave Thibeault though. (Tel #978-897-3158)

jff
08-30-2013, 04:56 PM
Update: I went ahead and ordered the Daytona carb. I'll still have the stock carb around if I ever want to get it fixed and put back in. The cost for remanufacturing was pretty much the same as the new carb, except the new carb will be here in about 1 week while remanufacturing would take 6+ weeks.

jff
09-04-2013, 11:41 AM
The carburetor is here! It arrived yesterday, well-packed in a Priority Mail box. Looks great, and I intend to install it tonight.

Can anyone recommend what to do about the little line that runs out of the exhaust manifold and went into the choke on the original carb? It doesn't look like there's an easy way to remove it from the manifold, but should I try to at least find a bolt to plug the end? I figure if I leave it just hanging around, it's going to puff dirty exhaust all over the inside of my engine compartment, which would be unpleasant.

RadioRoy
09-04-2013, 11:45 AM
That tube is not open to the exhaust stream. There should be two tubes, one for air in and one for air out. You can plug them if you wish, or you can just leave them alone. No exhaust will come from them.

jff
09-04-2013, 12:52 PM
Ah, that's great! I only saw one tube, and I guess I assumed it just opened directly into the exhaust manifold. I'll just leave it alone. Thanks!

Ron Dame
09-04-2013, 05:51 PM
That tube is not open to the exhaust stream. There should be two tubes, one for air in and one for air out. You can plug them if you wish, or you can just leave them alone. No exhaust will come from them.

That's not quite right for a 6, there is one straight tube that extends through the manifold and comes out the bottom, and they are bad for burning through. SI used to have them, I suppose they still do. If you don't connect it to the choke, it won't function correctly, unless you use a manual choke, and if it is burned through, you'll pull exhaust into the choke housing and clog it all up.

jff
09-05-2013, 10:12 PM
It's running! It's warm out so I just started it up by giving a little gas, I haven't hooked up the choke yet. Took it for a spin around the block to test. It stalled out twice pulling away from stop signs, but I think that's a matter of overly low idle.

Ron, I noticed small puffs of air coming from the choke tube, so it may have burned through.

Ron Dame
09-06-2013, 06:30 AM
If it is a manual choke, Radio Roy is right...just put two pipe plugs in. I, and a couple other Champion engine owners have found that these engines sometimes want a ridiculous amount of ignition timing, even when the vibration damper indexing has been checked time and time again. One thing I experienced was a stumbling off idle when the timing was not advanced.

JoeHall
09-06-2013, 06:35 AM
It's running! It's warm out so I just started it up by giving a little gas, I haven't hooked up the choke yet. Took it for a spin around the block to test. It stalled out twice pulling away from stop signs, but I think that's a matter of overly low idle.

Ron, I noticed small puffs of air coming from the choke tube, so it may have burned through.

The motor will be happier idling at 700-750. I like my Stude V8s at around 750-800 in winter, and 800-900 in summer (due to AC compressor load). It will not hurt anything to idle it up. At 500-600, you are just asking it to stall on you, i.e. when pulling away from a light or during hot weather in stop & go traffic.