PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust Heat Riser Spring

alex54
08-15-2013, 01:12 PM
A newbie here with my first post.

I recently bought a '54 Champion that underwent a restoration in '95, driven a while, then went into storage. It's the most original car I've seen in a long while, and would like to keep it that way as much as possible. My problem is the heat riser spring is broken, and the valve is seized. I've searched, but cannot find that spring. I know I can modify and remove/disable the heat riser, (I've done it on my one of my other cars) but I would like to keep this one. So my questions are:
1. Is there a source where I can get the spring for a '54 Champion 6?
2. Can I use a spring from something else like a Chevy 6?

-Alex

tbredehoft
08-15-2013, 02:13 PM
Studebaker International lists a complete rebuild kit for the Champion, 1939-60 on page 176 of their current catalog, pt No. 801354 for $65.
I'm sure other vendors will also have it or something similar.

alex54
08-15-2013, 03:20 PM
Thanks for the reply Tom.
I've seen that particular part during my search, but the picture looks like its for the V8, not the 6 (Mine is in the manifold itself, not a separate piece like the picture). I also noticed, they use the words "heat riser thermostat" with no picture. I wonder if that is the spring. Can anyone verify this is indeed the right part?

-Alex

tbredehoft
08-15-2013, 03:26 PM
I think you will find that your "spring" is a bi-metal strip, that straightes (or curls) as it heats. That w ould be the 'Thermostat'. The listing is for Champions, the is a different listing for Commanders, which would be V-8s.

alex54
08-15-2013, 03:43 PM
Thanks Tom, Ill go ahead and order. I'ts not that I don't trust vendors.... I've had very good experiences with most vendors for my Chevy, MG, and Triumphs, but I've had a few not so good experiences too. I just need to feel out the Studebaker vendors.

2moredoors
08-15-2013, 05:58 PM