OUCH! Tough 1963 photo at Indiana State Fair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OUCH! Tough 1963 photo at Indiana State Fair

'Spent yesterday at the 2013 Indiana State Fair. 'Always a great time; 'wife and I thoroughly enjoy it.

But I encountered a tough reminder of Studebaker realites in 1963.

In the huge Reynolds Equipment barn promoting John Deere products was a large, perhaps a 4' X 8' color photograph, of a 1963 Farmer's Day new equipment parade in front of the Main Grandstand. State Fair Visitor Parking is in the infield of the track, so hundreds of ordinary cars that were driven to the 1963 Indiana State fair were visible in the top half of the photograph.

The photograph was on a wall over six feet off the floor, with a table in front of it, so it was impossible to take a meaningful photograph of it to post.

But I studied the photograph for several minutes, looking at all the everyday cars my fellow Hoosiers had driven to the 1963 Indiana State Fair, looking for Studebakers. I couldn't find one Studebaker; not a single one in perhaps 200 cars I could readily identify before they became too blurry on the far side (top) of the photograph.

In 1963, in Indiana, at The State Fair! GULP.

'Too often we forget the realities of what Studebaker was up against in the market in their twilight years. 'Sniff.

(But I'm willing to bet that if I had that original photograph on a table in front of me with a magnifying glass, I could locate one Studebaker somewhere...I mean, wouldn't there be at least one 3 or 4 year old 1959/1960 Lark in the lot? Geeze, Louise!) BP
    We've got to quit saying, "How stupid can you be?" Too many people are taking it as a challenge.

G. K. Chesterton: This triangle of truisms, of father, mother, and child, cannot be destroyed; it can only destroy those civilizations which disregard it.

I guess that's part of why I love 'em. I've always rooted for the underdog.
    '63 Lark Custom, 259 v8, auto, child seat