Quaker State Oil ad

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quaker State Oil ad

Still thumbing thru magazines and found this....
    Attached Files

Do you suppose Studebaker paid for this placement? Maybe Quakerstate thought it was a good looking car.
    Don Wilson, Centralia, WA

40 Champion 4 door*
    50 Champion 2 door*
    53 Commander K Auto*
    53 Commander K overdrive*
    55 President Speedster
    62 GT 4Speed*
    63 Avanti R1*
    64 Champ 1/2 ton

* Formerly owned

Comment

Great ad; I'd never seen nor heard of it before. Quaker State was headquartered in Oil City, PA, maybe 35 miles from where I grew up. They're not there anymore (shocker). I applied there for a job when I graduated college, and my college roommate has lived there for over thirty years now. Thanks for posting!
      Bill Pressler
      Kent, OH
      (formerly Greenville, PA)
      Currently owned: 1966 Cruiser, Timberline Turquoise, 26K miles
      Formerly owned: 1963 Lark Daytona Skytop R1, Ermine White
      1964 Daytona Hardtop, Strato Blue
      1966 Daytona Sports Sedan, Niagara Blue Mist
      All are in Australia now

Comment

Great ad,......new one on Me!

Comment

Or, if you prefer Pennzoil for drag-racing your 1951 Studebaker Commander Starlight Coupe, like the Sanders-Flanigan Special, you have a couple weeks to buy this famous ad on e-bay:

Note that they won their class at the Detroit 1959 NHRA National Drags with a best time of 16.81 @ 83 mph. That was three years before Ted Harbit appeared at the event [in 1962, after it had moved to Indianapolis Raceway Park] with the newly-hatched Chicken Hawk fresh out of its nest.

I can't find Ted Harbit's best time ever in the Chicken Hawk as a stocker right off, but it's real close to that 16.81 one way or another. I'll ask him and post an edit later. BP
          We've got to quit saying, "How stupid can you be?" Too many people are taking it as a challenge.