Is this Avanti Red?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this Avanti Red?

I heard this was going on the block sateerday and wondered if the paint was Avanti Red?

It looks too orange to me, but I'm not an Avanti expert.
    "In the heart of Arkansas."
    Searcy, Arkansas
    1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
    1952 2R pickup

Comment

No, but this is:

Originally posted by mapman View Post
      I heard this was going on the block sateerday and wondered if the paint was Avanti Red?

http://www.barrett-jackson.com/appli...n=7006&aid=466
      JDP Maryland

Comment

The first thing you notice about this Hot Rod's paint is that it does not even appear to be Metallic.

Then there is the color, not enough
        Maroon, just Red.
        StudeRich
        Second Generation Stude Driver,
        Proud '54 Starliner Owner
        SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Don't forget that digital cameras don't always capture color accurately.

My Avanti red car looks plain red in the 2013 AOAI Avanti calendar. My bad for not having it set up correctly.
          However, IMHO, Avanti Red is a difficult color to capture, different light effects it greatly...
          63 Avanti R1 2788
          1914 Stutz Bearcat
          (George Barris replica)

Washington State

Comment

To: JDP,--I've always thought that the Strato-Vue mirrors look nicer mounted on the front fenders (as a '63 would have) as opposed to the door mounting location (as on this beautiful 'survivor' '64 Avanti.)

Comment

My Lark came with mirrors mounted on the doors like that, and you cannot see the right hand one from the driving position.

Comment

Originally posted by SN-60 View Post
                To: JDP,--I've always thought that the Strato-Vue mirrors look nicer mounted on the front fenders (as a '63 would have) as opposed to the door mounting location (as on this beautiful 'survivor' '64 Avanti.)