Avanti HD fan affect on Water Pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Avanti HD fan affect on Water Pump

StudeGary mentioned in a recent post that the HD Avanti 6-blade fan shortens the life of the water pump. The HD fans are indeed noisy and keep my Avanti around 180 degrees, but I recently bought an original 5-blade (offset) fan to see if the noise reduction will adversely affect cooling ability. A bonus would be improved water pump life. Since I am new to the Avanti world, I wonder what is the basis for the statement that the HD fan reduces water pump life? Inquiring minds...thanks for any info...Bob

TO: AnAvanti4Bob,------If the HD six blade fan is in good condition (not bent and in proper balance) I really don't see how using it would have any effect on the life of the water pump.

Comment

Originally posted by SN-60 View Post
      TO: AnAvanti4Bob,------If the HD six blade fan is in good condition (not bent and in proper balance) I really don't see how using it would have any effect on the life of the water pump.
      TO: SN-60. Thanks for the quick reply. How does one tell if the 5 or 6 blade fan is not bent and in proper balance? Is there a standard by which they can be measured or just observation as they whirl about? Bob

Comment

TO: AnAvanti4Bob,-----One of those inexpensive lawn mower blade balancers would probably tell the tale as far as balance, as far as whether or not the blades are in the same 'plane' I would just
        lay it on a known flat surface and see if the blades touch evenly......OR, if it's still on the engine,...manually spin it in relation to a fixed object (or constant) that the blade clearance can be measured against.

Comment

Even if the fan is in balance, there is still a major increase in the mass whirling around at the end of the water pump shaft. Of course an out of balance condition would also add side loading to the water pump bearing.
          Gary L.
          Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968