My first Avanti

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first Avanti

I just bought an Avanti, my first. I took a test drive in 1964 when I was a newly minted teacher. The price equaled my salary for the year. Knowing what I know now, they might have been willing to come down a little if I had made an offer. Anyway, I can now check this off my bucket list.

Everything I have read about how hot it gets inside is true. Fortunately this one has still working AC. However, I have not seen mention of the useless sun visors in these cars.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Avanti.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	99.8 KB
ID:	1736221
    Don Wilson, Centralia, WA

40 Champion 4 door*
    50 Champion 2 door*
    53 Commander K Auto*
    53 Commander K overdrive*
    55 President Speedster
    62 GT 4Speed*
    63 Avanti R1*
    64 Champ 1/2 ton

* Formerly owned

Don,

Best of luck with your Avanti. See, it always pays to be patient. It also doesn't hurt to have the money for the car.

Rog
    '59 Lark VI Regal Hardtop
    Smithtown,NY
    Recording Secretary, Long Island Studebaker Club

Comment

Those sunvisors have been complained about since day one...it's just something Avanti owners have simply learned to live with. It stems from Sherwood Egbert having some intense dislike for sunvisors and didn't want any at all, but the best the stylists could get by with was those small visors. Egbert gets a lot of credit and blame for the Avanti...without him there would never have been an Avanti to begin with, the interior being very "aircraft" was due to his being a pilot, the small visors are due to him, and the more vertical windshield was due to him since he was so tall and banged his head on the mock up and told the engineers to increase headroom, resulting in raising the front of the roof. For better or worse, all those were due specifically to Egbert.
      Poet...Mystic...Soldier of Fortune. As always...self-absorbed, adversarial, cocky and in general a malcontent.