PDA

View Full Version : Electrical: 62 hawk alternator conversion



dallastx75208
07-22-2012, 09:19 AM
I have a 62 hawk and would like to switch from generator to alternator. I am sure I am not the first person to do this and I could not find anything on the site about doing this. I do not know that much about electric so I need clear instructions, what alternator to buy, if I need a new bracket and where to get that, and where the wires go. I have read about one wire and three wires. Pictures or drawings help a whole lot.

whacker
07-22-2012, 10:37 AM
Read this:

http://www.studebaker-info.org/rjtechx3.html#Alternators

Dan White
07-22-2012, 10:44 AM
Two threads:

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/showthread.php?16045-GM-Si-Alternator-Hookup&highlight=Alternator

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/showthread.php?16129-Alternator-wiring-addendum-fusible-link&highlight=Alternator

dallastx75208
07-23-2012, 09:54 AM
Thanks for the great information. Great web site. It appears that my generator bracket had been modified to fit a GM 10 Alternator and for some reason they went back to a generator. They just built a NAPA store a mile a way so will pop in on those guys so see about getting the alternator.

Alan
07-23-2012, 10:13 AM
OK I see from this thread that you have a 62 Hawk. I would use a 1 wire Toyota type. The GM is larger and harder to fit right. The brackets that you can buy for about $20-40 for the Chevy type conversion puts the studs and one nut too close to the mounting ear. Toyota is an easier install but you may have to make your own brackets. Here at the Long Beach Swap meet the Chrome Toyota 1 wire is $100. Also can be bought from Galaxie Parts. If you want their contact info I can put it up for you.

53commander
07-23-2012, 10:35 AM
GM alternater needs this, http://www.ebay.com/itm/DA-Plug-6V-12V-Alternators-/370538423239?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5645cfa3c7

53commander
07-23-2012, 10:43 AM
Couple pics of my set up

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x112/2002shee/DSCN2659.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x112/2002shee/DSCN2660.jpg

Dan White
07-23-2012, 01:51 PM
Plug for rear of the GM alternator is available at most auto parts stores. Got mine at Napa.

Alan
07-23-2012, 02:05 PM
53 com, In the second pic. of post #7 is the bracket I was talking about. I have seen that bracket in the $20 to $40 price range. See you used bolts rather than studs like Stude used to. Same bracket can be used for the Toyota set up and with the slotted adjustments can be moved forward.

Chucks Stude
07-23-2012, 03:24 PM
Got pics of the Toyota installation?

53commander
07-23-2012, 03:47 PM
53 com, In the second pic. of post #7 is the bracket I was talking about. I have seen that bracket in the $20 to $40 price range. See you used bolts rather than studs like Stude used to. Same bracket can be used for the Toyota set up and with the slotted adjustments can be moved forward.

I had to modify that bracket and in hindsight it's not worth buying the kit. (I paid $30.00) With the kit done the way they say you end up with a giant frankenstein bracket that is ugly as heck and also the upper bracket doesn't work. I had to use bolts because the front one would interfere with the lower alt. bolt.

dallastx75208
07-28-2012, 05:26 PM
Just ordered teh alternator. Set up will be like yours. I do have another question. Will my amp meter still work? I am single wire and according to something a read that single wire goes to teh battery. The other wire is ground. What is the plug you are talking about at the back. Where does teh diod go? Not sure I spelled that but you know what I mean? Electric on a car is the one area I do not know much about.

Dan White
07-29-2012, 06:21 AM
If you checked the earlier post there is a diagram and where the diode goes.

http://forum.studebakerdriversclub.com/showthread.php?16045-GM-Si-Alternator-Hookup&highlight=Alternator

dallastx75208
07-31-2012, 08:14 PM
I have put in a single wire GM 10 alternator. I ran the positive wire to the starter solenoid. The rest is grounded to the car. Inside the car I will run a wire from the ignition key to the amp meter to power it up. My question is about the diode and I know there have been discussions about this and pictures. I just donít want to mess it up. Does the diode attach between the alternator to battery or between battery and ignition?
I am showing a charge when I hook up a gage so I have that correct.
Thanks for all your help. Electric is one thing on a car I know nothing about and tend to blow fuses when under the dash working.

53commander
07-31-2012, 08:50 PM
The plug on the back with the diode in it is for the 3 wire alternator.

dallastx75208
07-31-2012, 09:24 PM
So I don't need diode for a single wire set up?

The plug on the back with the diode in it is for the 3 wire alternator.

53commander
08-01-2012, 06:21 AM
The diode is so the engine will turn off with the original ignition switch. I'm not sure about the single wire set up but if the engine shuts off with the key then you dont need a diode.