DOT 5 (Silicone) Brake Fluid

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brakes: DOT 5 (Silicone) Brake Fluid

I went to take the 64 Convert for a drive yesterday and found I did not have any rear brakes. I got under it to find the leak and could not see anything. I had my wife press on the brake pedal and saw fluid running out of the brake light switch. I had one other brake light switch failure in a car with silicone where the switch just stopped working.

I use silicone in 7 Studebakers, some of which I seldom drive. I have been using it for around 25 years now. 2 switch failures does not seem bad at all as the switches are easy to change and not that expensive. This one was on the bottom of the master cylinder under the hood, cannot get much easier.

I have also noticed that if a car sits for a year or so, sometimes a wheel cylinder will have a piston stick in it and the brakes will grab as a result. The first time this happened, I tore it apart and found nothing other than dryness. I now just carefully drive the car and frequently press the brakes to get the piston lubed. It will normally lube in a block or so.

Other than that, I have not seen any other issues with silicone.

All this said, I am very happy with silicone. I still remember the days of having to rebuild the wheel cylinders on seldom used cars with DOT 3 every several years and that was a pain.

An occasional switch or dry piston is minor compared to rebuilding a brake system.

I know that are switches out there which will are silicone tolerant, but since I have a supply of the standard switches, I will stay with them for now (CASO comes out!)

And I do not own stock in a silicone manufacturer!
    Milt

1947 Champion (owned since 1967)
    1961 Hawk 4-speed
    1967 Avanti
    1961 Lark 2 door
    1988 Avanti Convertible

Member of SDC since 1973

Has anybody used 5.1 yet?

Comment