57 Transtar - Project Start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 57 Transtar - Project Start

(my first Post) I am just getting started with a 57 Transtar. I am new to Studebakers, and, therefore, your help getting me over the learning curve is much appreciated. First off, I am having trouble identifying my engine. I looked at the engine ID tables, but it is not making sense to me. From what i have been able to tell the engine codes are engraved (not raised letters) on the top, front, Driver side of the engine. I believe it reads "VA41818", See Picture. What is an engine like this worth? I am considering replacing it with a modern GM V8. (I like what Sdude did with his Transtar.)
    Attached Files

Does it run? I have also recently acquired a '57 Transtar. Good luck.

Comment

I would stay with the Stude powerplant if you can! Studebaker made a very solid and reliable V8 powerplant that can be rodded and hopped up! Nothing out-there sound like a solid lifter Studebaker V8!!!!!!!!!!I

Comment

I suspect the letter A is actually a 4 -- or should have been. V441818 would make it a 259 from a 1959 passenger car.
        Skip Lackie

Comment

it should run. it ran about 10 years ago when it was parked and tear down started.

Comment

It will run...put it in and fire it up.
            Big welcome to the site. You should be really excited with that good of a starting point. Looks really nice.
            No problems from me if you do decide to go with a GM...but that said, I just got a '49 C-cab on the road and I am REALLY glad I stuck with Stude power even though it is not the "stock" motor from my truck...much much better.

Comment

Another Transtar here..... 57 V8 Auto....
              oldwood, your's looks better than mine!
              I've got mine running/driving but not well...

Comment