M5 truck

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• M5 truck

I'm a newbie to this web site and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction for pricing a 1948 Studebaker m5 truck. My great uncles truck is being offered to my family and we have no idea what a fair price would be. It hasn't run since 1964. the body is in real nice shape. Its been in a garage for the last 25 years and prior to that a horse barn. I wish I could post a picture. I will figure that out later. Thanks for any help you can give us.

As is the case when you price any item, condition is the overriding factor. Based on your brief description and a lack of pictures the price could fall within a very wide range. When considering the price of a restorable vehicle the paramount concern is the condition of the sheet metal. On a M-5 the areas of concern would be the cab corners, the area above the windshield (mice leave nests and urine which will create rust), the floors, the fenders (which are interchangeable to opposite corners) the front edge of the hood, the bed floor, the tailgate and the grilles (especially the center section).

Is the engine free? If not you need to factor in a rebuild, you will need new tires and brakes, the wiring is probably shot and a new interior may be called for. Get some clear pictures from all angles (you can post to a Photobucket album and link to it here) and we will give you an idea on what it might be worth.

Comment

M5 trucks have become the darling of Studebaker trucks just behind the '37-'39 Coupe Express.
      Sounds like the truck is offered as part of an estate?
      Not run in forty-eight years? As Gary indicated, without photos and detailed description of condition, can't be worth less than ? or more than ?.

If posting pictures on the Forum is an issue, email them to one of us and we can post them for you.
      Brad Johnson,
      SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
      Pine Grove Mills, Pa.