PDA

View Full Version : New Hydrovac - But really weak Brake Lights



studebaker-R2-4-me
06-25-2007, 10:15 PM
I installed a rebuilt hydrovac last week in South Bend - (Thank you to all who helped out). I've had a persistent leak on the bottom banjo connection and I am not sure whether I have it licked just yet. While driving home I noticed and people behind me have too that my brake lights do not always come on. Under light depression of the brake pedal I have no brake lights to just a flicker but under a hard stop I do have full bright brake lights.

Is it time for a new brake switch?

Allen

1964 GT Hawk soon to be R2 Clone

Dick Steinkamp
06-25-2007, 10:24 PM
quote:Originally posted by studebaker-R2-4-me


Is it time for a new brake switch?



Yep...and you might as well get one of the low pressure switches from Ron Francis (and others). The brake lights will come on even sooner than a new stock switch.



http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

JDP
06-25-2007, 10:32 PM
You might have a air bubble behind the switch too.

JDP/Maryland
66 Sports sedan
64 Daytona HT/R2 clone
64 Daytona R2
63 GT R2
63 Lark 2 door
62 Gt Hawk
62 Lark 2 door
60 Lark HT-60Hawk
59 3E truck
58 Starlight
52 & 53 Starliner
51 Commander

studebaker-R2-4-me
06-25-2007, 11:01 PM
If there is a air bubble behind the switch, how do I get rid of it?

Should I crack the seal on the pressure switch and bleed it through the switch?



1964 GT Hawk soon to be R2 Clone

GTtim
06-26-2007, 03:49 PM
It seems to me that if you bled a little fluid out at the Hydrovac, that would get rid of any air behind the switch.

Tim K.
'64 R2 GT Hawk