New GT owner with sprak plug wire routing problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: New GT owner with sprak plug wire routing problem

Hello everyone- I just bought a 1962 GT and I am just beginning to learn the wonderful world of Studebakers and I already screwed up.

It was running good but I changed the spark plug wires for maintenance and now it wont start. I changed them one at a time so I wouldn't screw it up but apparantly I must have started at the wrong tower on the new cap.

I used the routing diagram I found on this forum and installed the wires in the cap by counting towers in relation to the retainer clips. The problem I see is that my #1 cylinder tower is not directly inline with carb like the diagram shows but it is facing off to the right or passenger side.

Is it wrong to install the wires according to the retainer clips and should I assume the tower inline with carb is the #1 cylinder?

thanks for the help!

This isn't going to be as easy for you as it is for me to tell about.

Remove the left front spark plug, that's No. 1. Pull the coil wire from the center of the distributor so none will fire.

Place a finger on the hole of the spark plug you just removed and slowly bump the engine over until you feel pressure on your finger. Stop bumping the starter and watching the harmonic balancer and it's pointer, turn the engine until the TDC mark is under the pointer. (Turn the engine over by moving the fan belt in the same direction it turned with the starter)

When the pointer is at TDC, No. 1 is at the top of it's stroke. Pull the distributor cap and note which wire tower it is pointing toward. (It should be pointing straight ahead, but who knows what some previous owner did.)

Connect this tower with the No. 1 plug.

With the distributor cap off, note which way the rotor turns when you bump the starter. I forget. In any case, the next plug in firing order is in that direction from No. 1

Firing order is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2.