Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What problems should I look for on a 1950-1951 Commander/Land Cruiser?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What problems should I look for on a 1950-1951 Commander/Land Cruiser?

My parents are former South Bend Studebaker employees. I've never owned or restored a Studebaker, but would like to have a piece of my hometown in the garage since so many of my family worked for Studebaker.

I have an opportunity to buy what may be a 1951 Commander Land Cruiser. The current owner has only recently decided to put it up for sale, but he has not advertised it yet, so I may be the first to look at it.

I am planning to go look at it tomorrow morning (25 Nov 2011, day after Thanksgiving). Can anyone please give me advice as to where I should be looking for the identification plates and specific problems (like rust-prone areas) so I can judge its present condition? I am an aircraft mechanic, so I am not mechanically inept. I just need to know where I should be looking.

I've only seen the car once in passing and immediately recognized it as a 1950 or 1951 by the bullet nose. It is a 4-door. I've spoken with the current owner by telephone, and this is what I know so far:

He believes it is a 1951 Commander Land Cruiser. He believes the car came from South Dakota and was moved to western Washington State. He believes the engine is seized. He believes there are no rust holes in the body, and the only rust is just surface rust on the exterior. He has the South Dakota title. Other than that, he doesn't know much more.

If I decide i do not want to buy this car, I will ask the owner for permission to post his contact information and pictures of the car so if any of you are interested you can contact him.

Thanks for your time and any advice you can provide.

Mark
    Last edited by Mark L; 09-20-2015, 01:29 PM.
    Mark L