Performance mods for a 1962 259

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Performance mods for a 1962 259

Hi. I'm brand new to this whole Studebaker thing. I recently purchased a 1953 Starliner that has 1962 rear end, auto trans and 259 V8. Can anyone point me the right direction on "waking up" that motor? Thanks

Four barrel carb and twin exhaust adds some bolt on HP. Don Simmons at Silvertone exhaust (an SDC vendor) has stainless steel units at a very reasonable cost. Ignition helps. If everything is in great shape, leave it alone. You can go Pertronix at a reasonable cost. I imagine it has been coverted to 12V? Nice ride.
    Dave Warren (Perry Mason by day, Perry Como by night)

Comment

Welcome to forum toaster! Some real great and helpful people here. I am new to Studes also and have only been on here for a couple months and these folks have really helped me with my truck project.

Keep your eye on Ebay for a manifold. I saw a 4v manifold for $100 a couple of weeks back but I didnt buy it, was not sure what I was gonna do for power at the time....now I am going with a Stude 289 thanks to a very generous SDC member and I am wishing I would have snatched up that 4v manifold. The manifolds will interchange on a 259/289 Stude motor and I believe all Stude V8s will fit so keep your eyes peeled.

Congrats on the new Starliner. Beautiful car. Post up some pics, we love pics here.
      Last edited by kmac530; 11-04-2011, 01:13 PM.

Comment

Welcome to SDC.

Do some searching here and over on the Racing Studebakers site and you'll have weeks of reading. Everything possible on a Studebaker V8 is available on these two sites.

jack vines
        PackardV8

Comment

I have 4v manifolds, how many do you want??
          Candbstudebakers
          Castro Valley,
          California

Comment

CandB One for me if the price is fair. You can PM or email me the info.
            kellymcculley530@yahoo.com