Studebaker Commander?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Studebaker Commander?

We spotted this beauty on the highway in Southern Alberta. Looked immaculate. Unfortunately I am still learning my models so I am not entirely sure what it is. Can anyone help?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00060-20111022-1557.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	1734221

Thats a nice looking 53 or 54. Nice picture

Comment

Appears to have no license on it, maybe someone just bought it.
      sigpic

Home of the Fried Green Tomato

"IF YOU WANT THE SMILES YOU NEED TO DO THE MILES "

1960 Champ , 1966 Daytona , 1965 Daytona Wagonaire

Comment

Based on the separate trunk release and trunk handle, I'd say a '53. Can't see the trunk ornament or side well enough to see whether it's a Champion or a Commander.
        Howard - Los Angeles chapter SDC
        '53 Commander Starliner (Finally running and driving, but still in process)
        '56 Golden Hawk (3 speed/overdrive, Power steering - Running, but not yet driving)
        '58 Packard Hawk. A partially restored car that was not completely assembled.

Comment

That's Kevin fonseca from calgary a driving his 53 champion coupe. A beautiful car.
          Evan Davis
          Prince Albert, Sk

Comment

Yeah, the '53 Commanders have the little "Commander" script to the right of the trunk handle. They also have an 8 in the center of that V, whereas a Champion would have an S there.

Interesting to see the single backup light option. Of course, I don't like those BU lites on the deck lids at all. Still nice to see one on the road!
            No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

Yup. I forgot about the Commander script on the trunk. I've never seen the single backup light option, but I guess you could order almost any variation you wanted if you knew the right people.
              Howard - Los Angeles chapter SDC