1950 Studebaker Land Cruiser

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1950 Studebaker Land Cruiser

I recently inherited my Great Grand Dad's 1950 Land Cruiser. It is definately gonna need some work, but I am ready to take on the project "full steam ahead"! The car has a lot of surface rust, but no rust through anywhere. All of the chrome is still in phenomenal condition and only a few pieces of glass need to be replaced. Being the VP of a custom "Rat Rod" crew, I want to keep the car in it's rusty state, polish the chrome, and do some trick things to it. It has the original flat top inline 4 cyl., but I really want to put a V8 in it. I am new to the Studebaker community, so my resources are limited at this time and it is difficult to find stuff for these cars online. Does anybody on here have any ideas where I can acquire a Studebaker engine/trans combo. Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thank you all so much for your time and for the shared interest in these fine automobiles.

'50 Land Cruiser

Welcome John, that is a great find! The Land Cruiser is the top of the line, simi-limo, luxury Sedan Commander on a longer wheelbase, one of the longest ever at 122 inches.

This engine is no slug, it is a 245 cid Commander Big 6, a Flathead "L" Head type Engine as many 30's 40's 50's and a few early 60's Engines of most makes were.

It is a very tough, dependable engine which would de-value a good solid Land Cruiser if removed, but of course it will not be super fast, so if you must replace it, there are members with '51 and on Stude. V-8's here that might sell, but we would need to know where you are, to be able to help.
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver,
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner
    SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Straps,