slick street stuff rack and pinion installation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steering: slick street stuff rack and pinion installation

has anyone installed a slick street stuff front suspension. I could use some advice on any problems with this set up

thank you very much....joe dipipi@msn.com (53 stude mod)

I am wondering the same thing............

Is the Slick Street Stuff conversion kit the 'cat's meow' or would I be better off staying with an OEM Stude suspension (which would still need to be rebuilt although in all fairness I'm an alignment/suspension tech by trade) but with the Turner disc brake kit under a 1962-66 Y body?

I'm still weighing my options here.
    --------------------------------------

Sold my 1962; Studeless at the moment

Borrowed Bams50's sigline here:

"Do they all not, by mere virtue of having survived as relics of a bygone era, amass a level of respect perhaps not accorded to them when they were new?"

Comment

I'm rebuilding the stock setup with Turner brakes. Don't know much about the SSS conversion, have heard it's not for the faint-hearted. A suspension tech should have no trouble, but not for the shade tree mechanic.

Would like to hear from an owner/installer to hear their take, as I got my info 2nd (3rd?) hand.

Comment

Originally posted by 53 stude mod View Post
        has anyone installed a slick street stuff front suspension. I could use some advice on any problems with this set up

thank you very much....joe dipipi@msn.com (53 stude mod)
        I can't find the thread, but Pat Drnec tried this suspension and to say he was underwhelmed is an understatement.
        Paul Johnson, Wild and Wonderful West Virginia.
        '64 Daytona Wagonaire, '64 Avanti R-1, Museum R-4 engine, '72 Gravely Model 430 with Onan engine

Comment

Originally posted by 53k View Post
          I can't find the thread, but Pat Drnec tried this suspension and to say he was underwhelmed is an understatement.