It's a small world

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's a small world

Just got this from a bidder on our Lark: (edited for privacy) BTW, even born in the same hospital as the bidder.

Hey John
    My name is Dave xxxx and like you was born in South Bend IN (St. Josephs Hospital 07/68). My grandfather worked at the Studebaker factory and his family and I were all born in South Bend as well. My Grandparents used to own the house at xxxx xxxxx Avenue until the early 90's. I promised my family that I would do whatever it took (within reason) to get a Stude back into the family as my Grandfather built them, but never owned one. Kind of Ironic to build cars but not drive one. Anyway, I am new to Ebay bidding (no good or bad feedback) but am looking to buy a Stude to keep my promise to the family. I have a little over 3K for one so I will bid and if I win, fine. If not, so be it. But just wanted you to know that I am not a flake bidder. You can reach me at xxxxx
    JDP Maryland

That's a cool intro.. A few of my most fun ebay deals were with 'new' ebayers! Was on the phone quite a bit one sunday with a first time buyer- I hope this guy buys,[wins] your car!!!
    Oglesby,Il.

Comment

Originally posted by 52hawk View Post
      That's a cool intro.. A few of my most fun ebay deals were with 'new' ebayers! Was on the phone quite a bit one sunday with a first time buyer- I hope this guy buys,[wins] your car!!!
      I spoke to him on the phone, he's now the high bidder and I'm pulling for him. I thought about setting a late BIN just for him, but there could be another bidder just as deserving waiting in the wings. I thanked him for telling me about his rookie ebay status, lowered the reserve a bit (which is made) and gave him a few tips, but it is still a auction after all.
      JDP Maryland

Comment

I am pulling for him and hope he wins and joins the SDC. Could be a Win Win for the whole Studebaker family!