Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

It’s a ’52 not a ’54 and $34,995 is way too much.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It’s a ’52 not a ’54 and $34,995 is way too much.

sigpic

I have no knowledge of this particular reseller. However, we had one locally who operated like many realtors - promise whatever it takes to get the listing. They'd get a consignment by throwing out a number they knew to be above market. Once they got the car on premises, the real negotiations would begin. They'd keep feeding the owner the real world offers, not so subtly making it his fault for not accepting one. If he complained the offers were a lot lower than promised, "Well, the market's down just now." or "Your car just isn't drawing the traffic we'd hoped it would." If the buyer accepted the lower offer, they got a commission. If a greater fool wandered in and paid asking price, both buyer and broker were happy. If it didn't sell, the brokers weren't out a nickle and had kept the showroom full.

jack vines
    PackardV8

Comment

Good Points Jack! But to add to this, from the pictures shown it looks like a reasonably well done car. And if it is you would be hard pressed to: find one , buy one, ship, one, buy the patrs & materials, restore and modify one to this condition for that much money......even if you had the equipment , facility, and skills to do so! And you considered your time worth $1.00 an hour or less!!!
      Good Roads
      Brian
      Speaking of which! I had better get off the Forum and get back out in the shop where I am working on the rust repairs required on Sandi's 61........at less than $1.00/hr.
      Butthere will be a nice supper and a glasss of wine ready when I come in.
      Brian Woods
      woodysrods@shaw.ca
      1946 M Series (Shop Truck)

Comment

HIGH Rider!

That is one unusual looking Custom FRONT END! It's just a '52 Champion in disguise. Can you say HEAVY DUTY V-8 Springs? Wow that IS high!