Need some info please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some info please

Well first off I would like to say hello, my name is josh and live in the great state of Ohio lol. Ive been customizing newer model cars for 10 years now and do paint and body work on the side in my garage. Ive been in love with cars since I was a teen and it continues to be a big part of my life now which leads into my story and what I need help with.

My grandparents have a really old Studebaker stored away and i am trying to find out what it is exactly cuz i am having trouble getting any sort of info on the net about it. My grandpa acquired it after the war and it actually was up and driving till about 10 yrs ago, some sort of fuel problem I believe. My grandpa passed away about 3 years ago and I never got to ask him about or dig into what it was exactly and so on. I tried to talk to my grandma a couple times but she doesnt really know/remember much these days. My uncle has talked to me recently about restoring it with him so I am tryn to learn all I can about this style of truck. Any and all info I can get is greatly appreciated. Also I am really sorry for the crappy pics from my phone, last time I was there I forgot my camera and there is some stuff on and in the way of it to get a clear shot.

J, it is really not all THAT ancient! Not to most of us anyway, it is a '41 to '48 Studebaker Truck known as an M Series, it is likely a 1 Ton or 1 1/2 Ton Truck and could have either a Champion small Six 169 c.i.d. or a 226 Commander Big 6, both Flatheads.

You will find the Serial Number Plate below the Seat on the floor, Driver's side visible with the door open.
    This will tell us which M Series Truck it is and the Engine size. The Serial Number will indicate it's Year of Mfg.
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver,
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner
    SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Love the cutter and both the buckboard seats... Hang on to those!
      Jeff