PDA

View Full Version : ATI Damper



Chicken Hawk
04-26-2007, 03:56 PM
I've been asked by two people to order them an ATI damper for their Stude V 8. The cost is $525. If anyone else would like one while I'm ordering, email me. Just so you know, you have to modify the timing cover slightly or else use about an eighth inch spacer. If you email me I can send you a picture of the modification. If there are enough others wanting one, the price may come down slightly.

Ted

N8N
04-26-2007, 04:57 PM
Ted,

I'd be interested in knowing more about this. I probably won't be buying one :( but I bet if you "spread the word" there may be some interest. Is this for a Lark/Hawk or Avanti only?

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Chicken Hawk
04-26-2007, 08:50 PM
I ordered a couple for guys with an Avanti but I don't know what they did to be able to use it. I use one on the CH. I sent ATI a standard Stude hub, damper, etc. and they made a hub to fit inside one of their standard dampers (I'm sure it is a Chevy damper). It would fit on the Avanti also but I don't know what they did to be able to use the stock pulleys that stick out on the front of the R damper. I didn't have them make the six 5/16" threaded holes in the hub for the Avanti pulleys.

Ted


quote:Originally posted by N8N

Ted,

I'd be interested in knowing more about this. I probably won't be buying one :( but I bet if you "spread the word" there may be some interest. Is this for a Lark/Hawk or Avanti only?

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://members.cox.net/njnagel

N8N
04-26-2007, 09:54 PM
I think most of the ATI dampers I've seen have three arms, so maybe they only used three holes? I guess my real question was, is there one available with a belt groove? I'm guessing, no.

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Chicken Hawk
04-26-2007, 10:42 PM
None with pulley grooves that I know of. I bolted a Chevy pulley on the front (three bolts holds it on).

Ted


quote:Originally posted by N8N

I think most of the ATI dampers I've seen have three arms, so maybe they only used three holes? I guess my real question was, is there one available with a belt groove? I'm guessing, no.

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://members.cox.net/njnagel

Mike Van Veghten
04-27-2007, 12:25 PM
N8N wrote -


quote: I think most of the ATI dampers I've seen have three arms,

ATI's do not have three arms. You may be thinking about a coupla of the off-shore brands that resemble OEM units. ATI's are a solid piece.

And yes...they do have a damper housing for a pulley. If you want to change to a late model ribbed belt, the latest series GM engine damper by ATI has a pulley designed into it.
No "V" belts I know of. Though a quick call to them will verify that.

And also, yea...the damper they use for the Stude "is" a SBC part... with the new hub. You can have them in steel or aluminum, also different diameters. They are also rebuildable.

Mike