Avanti in Eagle River Wisconsin c 1964

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Avanti in Eagle River Wisconsin c 1964

I have been collecting Studebaker post cards for over 30 years and have a few thousand (I'm guessing here).
    Of course I have most of the original Studebaker advertising cards going back to the Electrics and the horsedrawn era. Another slightly less popular variety is the street scenes i.e. Studebakers caught in the act of being themselves! In some cases these are even more interesting than the factory cards. In any event it is somewhat unusual to find a typical street scene (or in this case a roadside scene) with an Avanti. This with the turquoise Avanti was taken of the Travelers Inn in Eagle River, Wisconsin sometime in the mid 1960s. I just bought it off an Ebay auction (of course the seller had no idea of the significance of the unusual car sitting under the sign). Anyone have a turquoise Avanti that hails from that general neighborhood?
    Richard Quinn
    Editor emeritus: Antique Studebaker Review

Richard, I'd say that's an Avanti II. The front wheel opening looks smaller than what I think Studebaker Avantis had--a giveaway of an Avanti II.

There is a '67 full-size Buick in that postcard, so it's at least from fall of '66.

Interesting shot and neat-looking place as well!
    Bill Pressler
    Kent, OH
    (formerly Greenville, PA)
    Currently owned: 1966 Cruiser, Timberline Turquoise, 26K miles
    Formerly owned: 1963 Lark Daytona Skytop R1, Ermine White
    1964 Daytona Hardtop, Strato Blue
    1966 Daytona Sports Sedan, Niagara Blue Mist
    All are in Australia now

Comment

Love those roadside pictures. They should be in my postcard thread.
      Proud NON-CASO

I do not prize the word "cheap." It is not a badge of honor...it is a symbol of despair. ~ William McKinley

If it is decreed that I should go down, then let me go down linked with the truth - let me die in the advocacy of what is just and right.- Lincoln