PDA

View Full Version : Where is the brake-light switch?



MagikDraggin
04-24-2007, 10:34 PM
.....and is its sensitivity adjustable? As it is right now, I have to be pressing pretty hard on the pedal to get the brake lights to come on. The Hawk's got manual brakes, btw, if that matters.

Karl

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v147/MagikDraggin/Other%20Stuff/IM000986-reduced.jpg?
1962 GT Hawk 4sp

rockne10
04-24-2007, 10:49 PM
On my '53 Coupe it's on the brake line tee at the left front engine crossmember; not adjustable. it's a fluid pressure switch that could have accumulated crud preventing its actuation.

Dick Steinkamp
04-24-2007, 11:24 PM
A new switch will help, but Ron Francis (and others) have a low pressure switch...

http://www.parts123.com/parts123/yb.dll?parta~partsort

http://thenobot.org/images/s2d/s2d_01.jpg

MagikDraggin
04-24-2007, 11:59 PM
quote:Originally posted by Dick Steinkamp

A new switch will help, but Ron Francis (and others) have a low pressure switch...


Ahh, so in other words, it's simply "the nature of the beast"? They do come on alright, but when sitting at a traffic light on relatively level ground with the brakes on, they don't light up, unless I press down harder on the pedal.

As the other poster suggested, (once I find the crazy thing), cleaning off accumulated 'crud' might help.

Thanks,
Karl

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v147/MagikDraggin/Other%20Stuff/IM000986-reduced.jpg?
1962 GT Hawk 4sp

41 Frank
04-25-2007, 12:33 AM
Karl, go to O'Reilly's and ask for a S-194 Borg warner stop light switch. About $4.00 or so I think.

rockne10
04-25-2007, 10:50 PM
I don't think those switches are amenable to cleaning. They want to be replaced.:D

Brad Johnson
Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g233/rockne10/51x2.jpg'33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight, '53 Commander Starlight