New guy! with questions!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy! with questions!!

Hello from texas! I am located in lubbock to be specific, am 20 years old and i am a paint technician western collision center. I recently acquired a 1965 Studebaker Commander, it is a 4 door car, in ver good condition considering how long it has sat, iplan on doig a v8 chevy conversion, i was wondering if and where there was any info that would make this swap easier on me? and also it needs wheels and tires, i have a set sitting around off my elcamino and was wondering what the bolt pattern on the studebaker is? thanks for any help!

Thomas
    Attached Files
    Last edited by TexasFunk; 10-06-2010, 08:41 PM.

Welcome to the Stude world. You found the right place to hang out. Your 65 must be a GM 6 cyl model if your thinking about V/8ing it with a Chevy. It will be a bolt in with a few collected parts around here. The wheel bolt pattern in 5 on 4 1/2. Early Ford , Amc, some Dodges ect.

Gordon

Comment

Welcome! That car is perfect for that swap, and looks to be in great shape as you say! More people with experiance in that area I'm sure will chime in soon.
      Dylan Wills
      Everett, Wa.

1961 Lark 4 door wagon
      1961 Lark 4 door wagon #2 (Wife's car!)
      1955 VW Beetle (Went to the dark side)
      1914 Ford Model T

Comment

If it is in fact a 6 Cyl. it will need the 1 inch larger front and rear V-8 Brakes, V-8 front Springs, V-8 Transmission and V-8 Rear Axle then a 283, 327,350 or 400 small block will go right in just like the 283's did in a real V-8 car with the 283 front engine mount BRACKETS.

There were Commanders, Daytonas, Cruisers and Wagonaires in both 194 6 Cyl. and 283 V-8 some with 3 speed manual with Overdrive.
        StudeRich
        Second Generation Stude Driver,
        Proud '54 Starliner Owner
        SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Cool, another guy that's my age.