PDA

View Full Version : Generator Wiring



valleyguy
04-17-2007, 06:29 PM
I've had the generator off my 58 (289) Hawk for awhile and am now
reinstalling;;;; When I removed it I marked the two wires, but.. I can't remember which of the two terminals to connect the condensor/resistor to; manual doesn't show. Help? tks,
Joe D.

N8N
04-17-2007, 07:04 PM
big wire goes to the armature, little wire goes to the field. (make sure they are connected to the correct terminals on the regulator.) Condensor (really just a suppression cap) is not needed unless you have a radio; if you install it it should go on the armature terminal.

nate

--
55 Commander Starlight
http://members.cox.net/njnagel

valleyguy
04-18-2007, 06:45 AM
Thanks Nate; I do have a radio (albeit not working currently) so I do need the supression cap.
tks,
Joe D.

53k
04-18-2007, 09:07 AM
quote:Originally posted by valleyguy

I've had the generator off my 58 (289) Hawk for awhile and am now
reinstalling;;;; When I removed it I marked the two wires, but.. I can't remember which of the two terminals to connect the condensor/resistor to; manual doesn't show. Help? tks,
Joe D.

I'm probably preaching to the choir, but remember to re-polarize the generator when you install it.


[img=right]http://www.frontiernet.net/~thejohnsons/Forum%20signature%20pix/R-4.JPG[/img=right][img=right]http://www.frontiernet.net/~thejohnsons/Forum%20signature%20pix/64L.JPG[/img=right][img=right]http://www.frontiernet.net/~thejohnsons/Forum%20signature%20pix/64P.jpg[/img=right][img=right]http://www.frontiernet.net/~thejohnsons/Forum%20signature%20pix/53K.jpg[/img=right]Paul Johnson
'53 Commander Starliner (since 1966)
'64 Daytona Wagonaire (original owner)
'64 Daytona Convertible (2006)
Museum R-4 engine