53 Hood brace

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 53 Hood brace

Has anyone fabricated a brace or does any vendor sell one that fits the hoods to prevent potential problems. I can see where the weak point would be. Any suggestions before I have a problem?
    sigpic

I've been using mine (stock) for (off and on) 51 years, with no problems. Those potential problems can drive you crazy. Ignore them.

Comment

Are you talking about the prop rod or the tube that runs across the front of the hood?
      Brad Johnson,
      SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
      Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
      '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
      '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

Along the sides. It appears it would be easy to bend there because it is a stress point when opened and closed. Maybe I am imagining a problem that doesn't occur.
        sigpic

Comment

Once a hood has been kinked in the back corner.....how do you go about fixing it? My '55 president sedan has a "slight" bend on the passenger side.

I plan to add a torsion bar to the hinges (gleaned from my '56 sedan parts car) to help the hinges stay lined up, but need to get the hood straightened first.
          thanks,
          Mike Sal

Comment

On the '53 Coupe, and other models, you need to pull the hood forward as you open it. Classic Enterprises has produced a reinforcing plate for the rear corners to help with this issue.
            Brad Johnson,
            SDC since 1975, ASC since 1990
            Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
            '33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight. '53 Commander Starlight
            '56 Sky Hawk in process

Comment

None of my hoods have corner problems, but on the side they did get kinked so we popriveted a homade piece of angle iron to it and got one of the dent magic guys to bang it out.
              Click image for larger version

Name:	20_39_385149_3.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	1663087
              Alex Nelsen, certified Studebaker nut.